Author Topic: Learning How to Sew  (Read 16486 times)

oslapedo

Learning How to Sew
« on: September 13, 2009, 09:46:20 am »
A majority of the people here make their own costumes and I'm wondering, how did you all learn how to sew? What are your preferred methods, etc

If anyone has any tips for begginners just getting started that'd bee coo too.

b

Offline xxxchihiroxxx

• Bunnygirl
    • My deviantart
Re: Learning How to Sew
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2009, 09:58:10 am »
xD SELF TAUGHT!

I just kinda was given a sewing machine, looked up the manual and then went with it : / Peach was my first real sewing project.

I recommend getting a machine and some scrap fabric and just playing around, learn the ins and outs of your machine and see if theres any class's near bye. the hard thing about sewing is paterns really. When you learn how to read those your pretty much set.
returning with a vengeance to K con~

oslapedo

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2009, 10:07:53 am »
Okay~

Sewing machines preferred by cosplayers?

Offline xxxchihiroxxx

• Bunnygirl
    • My deviantart
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2009, 10:16:02 am »
depends : o

ive worked on a variety <3 my fav? 1930's singer. Runs better than anything else Ive used but I doubt youll find one of those.

Singers are usually a good place to start, their good quality and wont brake your bank so much as other brands. You might want to check kregs list for a used one to start off.

Offline ~boogiepop~

• Bunnygirl
    • Glorious Me
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2009, 10:23:06 am »