Author Topic: Kumoricon Location Idea  (Read 10930 times)

Offline The_Panda

• Sailor Scout
    • My Myspace
Kumoricon Location Idea
« on: March 26, 2010, 03:32:10 am »
I'm a pure-blood resident of Eugene, OR. I've lived here all my life, and have gone to K-con for two years, going on third.

Obviously, after this year is done, we're moving somewhere else. But where? There was speculation of moving to a convention hall or something.

While that's a nice idea, I don't know if we will have enough (even factoring in all the newcomers) to really fill all that in, and I'm not sure i would want to. Putting it in a hotel again would be nice, as long as it was big enough.

Well...is there any possibility we could put it inside the Eugene Hilton? I'm pretty sure it's got the capacity, the staff are infinitely friendly easier, (It's Eugene, they see people like us all the time.) and for a lot of people who farther down in the state, and the people who come up from California, this would make their trip just a bit easier.

Any ideas on this?

Offline Cyprus

• Bunnygirl
Re: Kumoricon Location Idea
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2010, 09:48:32 am »
I personally like it being in Portland & would welcome a convention center move...more opportunity to expand & grow.

Offline Trumby

• Bunnygirl
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2010, 12:51:41 pm »
According to the Hilton website (I assume you're talking about this hotel), that hotel only has 30,000 square feet of meeting space. The hotel we were in last year has 66,000 square feet of meeting space between both towers.
2011 New Cosplay Plans: Boba Fett, Hoshi (Arakawa Under the Bridge), Malcolm Reynolds

Offline kylite

• Bunnygirl
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2010, 12:56:50 pm »
my personal vote would have to be either the vancouver hilton or the doubletree at lloyd. I loved those 2 more then any other. plus they both ahve huge parks to help absorb the attendees
Yojimbo Assistant Manager, Hopeless Flirt
Work: Monday-Friday 12:30-9:39pm