Author Topic: The Lolita Thread  (Read 203574 times)

Offline fleur_fraise

• Bunnygirl
    • ka-san
The Lolita Thread
« on: June 15, 2009, 05:32:57 pm »
Please tell me if this is in the incorrect area!

Anime conventions have are notorious within the lolita community for having some really, really bad outfits. A lot of time, the lolita fashion itself is known for being considered "cosplay" because it is worn poorly at anime conventions, which it really is its own style of everyday clothing.

My goal is to help you guys with your lolita outfits to bring out their full potential and keep them from looking like a cosplay, and to keep you from being ridiculed online. I'm not an expert, and I doubt that anyone truly is, but I've been a part of the lolita community online for over a year now, and I've seen a ton of outfits. Some good, and some not so good.

First of all is a quick history of lolita fashion.
Because it is considered an alternative fashion, the roots of lolita are somewhat unclear. It gained momentum during the 80's and 90's, but specialty lolita shops are said to have been around as far back as the 70's. Throughout the years, the fashion has changed and grown, and it is still evolving today.

There are many different styles of lolita.
Gothic: the most well known, by far. In fact, most lolita is referred to as "gothic lolita" even when there are no gothic elements present. The colors used in gothic lolita are usually black, or sometimes white, but black and white lolita is mostly considered sweet lolita now. Navy blue is also popular.
Sweet: this could be considered the most popular style right now. A lot of overseas sweet lolita brands started shipping internationally, leading to a surge in the popularity. The colors are traditionally pink and white, but almost any color can work. Pastels are common, along with motifs involving candy or pastries or animals.