Author Topic: I need some advice from some post-braces wearers  (Read 916 times)

Offline ~boogiepop~

• Bunnygirl
    • Glorious Me
I need some advice from some post-braces wearers
« on: June 21, 2009, 10:20:21 pm »
So I had braces from 7th grade until I was a freshman in High School. I had pretty terrible teeth and had to have surgery or I would have lost my front four teeth.
I wore my plastic retainer for the whole time I was suppose to after I got off my retainer and then got my clear retainer that just attaches to my top teeth. I wore it constantly for 3 months or so and then stopped and went to wearing it once a week or so. To make a long story short, I lost that retainer and didn't wear it forever, then went back to my plastic one and my friend stepped on it, and then found my clear one and now it hurts so bad when I try to wear it.
My teeth aren't super terrible, I've got a small gap between two of my teeth and that's it, but my Mom swears to god that my teeth are going to splay out everywhere. I know I should be talking to my orthodontist, but I really don't have the time to go see him until my Winter Break. I just wanted some experiences from anyone who had these problems so I can maybe predict what might happen.
So here are my questions...
  • Should I deal with the pain in my retainer? I'm not sure if it will correct my teeth or not, and part of the back does not fit on my molars (It just hangs there). I read on the internet if you try to force you teeth with the retainer it will damage your tooth roots which isn't cool. Just curious if anyone had experience with this.
  • If any of you were stupid like me and didn't wear your retainer for awhile and went back to the dentist, were small flaws made in that time able to be corrected with a new retainer? Or did you have to get braces again?