Author Topic: Snow hits the region  (Read 4495 times)

Offline Eternal Yamcha

• Sailor Scout
Snow hits the region
« on: March 09, 2006, 12:59:01 am »
I doubt many people here know that I am an amateur Meteorologist (AKA, Weather Man.) I've been watching the cool air that's rushing in on us for awhile now (about a week.) Needless to say, I get excited when rare events like these happen... Most of today I've been on many different weather related websites (including my personal favorite The National Weather Service website) tracking this and watching weather reports on TV.

I'm glad that their suspiciouns were wrong. Right now where I live in Milwaukie, the snow was coming down hard (for Portland, OR's standards) and sticking to the grass, barkdust and concrete/cement surfaces including roads. I'm assuming the last time I look tonight it'll be quite covered in the cold stuff.

Whether or not this will last is a different story. I HIGHLY doubt that the snow in many parts of Portland will stick around long after sunset. It might be enough to delay school... But seriously... Don't hold your breath. The fun part about this is that we'll have moisture (aka, rain/water/snow) coming at us for the rest of the night into Saturday. The day time high temperatures will be enough to melt the snow, though don't be surprised that during a heavy shower/thunderstorm that we have snow just pummel us.

We'll probably have repeat perfomances of snow showers Thursday night/Friday morning and Friday night/Saturday morning. Enjoy it if you can people, this is one heck of a rare event.

Oh and to those people worried about their morning commute... I wouldn't be too worried if I were you. If you commute in the lower elevations there shouldn't be much of an issue... But if your commute takes you up and over some of the hills, don't be surprised if there are delays.

Let's hear about some snow stories if there are any from this rare event.[/url]
"Raisin Bran Crunch: BUY ME SOME; MOM!!!"