Author Topic: Size of cosplay question  (Read 1281 times)

Offline KarenD

• Oni
Size of cosplay question
« on: June 27, 2013, 12:30:19 pm »
I'm a con newbie, but this will be the third year for my two teenage daughters.  I have decided to cosplay as a Dalek from Doctor Who and am creating my cosplay from actual Dalek building plans, but with building materials more suitable for a cosplay.

So far I have created the base.  On a Dalek this is the very bottom part that sits on the floor, square but the angled as it goes up where it attaches to the skirt.  I have built it out of cardboard and it will be covered in fabric with Velcro so the cardboard can be removed.

My eldest daughter wants me to abandon my plans and create the typical Dalek dress cosplay you can find all over the Internet, but I want to do something different and more authentic.  Her objection is that she thinks the base is too large and that con attendees will be upset with me because of the size.  It is approximately the size of a wheelchair - 30 inches wide by 42 inches long.  I removed one set of panels, which decreased the size a little bit and deceased the amount of styrofoam balls I needed to purchase to attach to the skirt.

I will be wearing clothes under the cosplay so I can take it off whenever I want, especially if I am going to a panel.  I'm just concerned about what my daughter says about making other people upset at me when I am trying to move through crowds.  By the way, my younger, optimistic daughter says it is fine and she is excited about me making this cosplay.

I have helped them many times over the years to create their cosplays and am excited to be making my own.

Any thoughts from experienced con attendees or cosplayers?

Offline superjaz

• Bunnygirl
Re: Size of cosplay question
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2013, 02:39:47 pm »