Author Topic: Newbie's Guide to Portland, from a Portland Newbie  (Read 4615 times)

web

Newbie's Guide to Portland, from a Portland Newbie
« on: September 02, 2005, 06:16:11 pm »
I flew in from DC this (Friday) morning at around 12. Since the convention doesn't start until sometime tomorrow, and it's my first time in Portland, I decided to wander around a bit.

First mistake I made was to take a paid van to the hotel from the airport. The paid vans take you anywhere in the city for a flat rate of $13. What I didn't know was that there was a "Max" station at the airport and one (literally) right next to the hotel. The "Max" is a trolley service that runs every 10 minutes, it's very inexpensive, clean, and safe. So take the Max, it'll save you a bunch of money.

If you do take a van, be sure to ask your driver for some tips on places to check out.

The Doubletree hotel is right next to a GIGANTIC mall. It's three stories tall and very big. You can find everything there, and the prices aren't too bad either. If you and your friends are hungry, I definitely suggest you go to the 3rd level of the mall and each of you can pick out exactly what you want from the dozens of restaurants. The tables for all the restaurants are in the center, so you can all eat whatever you chose to buy together. There is also an ice skating rink, and a movie theatre.

The Max is FREE to go from the hotel to downtown and back. It runs every 10 minutes in each direction, so just hop on, go somewhere, and you can come straight back to the hotel anytime you want. Don't hesitate to just hop on and get off somewhere in downtown and walk around a bit, pick up a map at the hotel lobby and it'll be impossible for you to get lost.